Posted by: Jessica | June 24, 2010

Sounds Like Life To Me

On Monday I received a diagnosis of yet another life long, incurable disease, that fortunately won’t kill me. So that brings the grand total to 4. Four things that I have to live with, may have to take medication for, that will limit my ability to do certain things.

I think if I hadn’t already been through so much, this would have hurt a lot more. As it is, I feel like I’ve accepted it fairly quickly. The first half of the week was pretty bad, but things are getting better.

This morning Kyle and I woke up at 4 am, to go stand in line at Apple to get our new iPhones. My reservation was messed up and we were worried I wouldn’t get mine. At first I thought how annoyed I’d be. But honestly, I got over it quick. Everyone around us was making faces and saying how pissed they’d be if their reservation was lost. I looked at Kyle and said, “After what’s happened so far this week? This is nothing.”

And then he offered to give me his reservation. He was going to give up his chance to get his iPhone, and let me have his for a few weeks. To make me happy. I think both of us realized how unimportant it was. (And we are geeks about the iPhone. I don’t leave a room without mine in my hand or pocket. If it weren’t for the iPhone, we’d never have met.)

There are still days when I get angry about how unfair life has been to me sometimes. Sometimes I get a little scared about how angry I can get over little things. But when I do, I try to remind myself how lucky I am overall.

I value hard work. I earned myself a great job that I love doing. I can be successful at almost anything I try. I have an amazing family who is always there for me. I have an amazing boyfriend who loves me no matter what. I have two wonderful dogs who give me unconditional love. We have a great apartment thanks to me. I have a brand new car which is perfect for me.

This too shall pass.

This is a quilt I made this week, from a kit I bought. I messed up on the actual quilting of the 3 layers, thinking once I finish it, I’m going to wrap it around a big pillow and make Reed a dog bed.

Responses

  1. Oh wow sorry to hear that but like your attitude. Sometimes you just have to let things go and accept. It’s really hard though at times. I wish you luck with coping with this new thing life has thrown at you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

