Posted by: Jessica | August 11, 2010

New Camera, Try 2

I returned the Powershot 1200 after taking pictures of the dogs. All of the pics came out blurry or grainy. I just was not happy with the quality. I returned it, and after some more research, got the Canon PowerShot G11 – much higher end, but I think it’s WELL worth it. I can’t wait to take the dogs to the park today and get some action shots.

Here’s my first round of test shots.

I wanted to take a picture of Reed in the worst possible conditions – low light, back lit, and while he was moving. The 1200 or 630 would have gotten crap here.

Another cutie πŸ™‚

Sadie wasn’t interested in playing Pose For Photos, but she still looks pretty πŸ™‚

Some fun editing in Piknik.
Before:

After:

Breakfast:

Fun with Macro

Responses

  1. You’ll have to tell me how you like it, as I’ve been an ELPH girl as my small/non DSLR camera, but drool over the G-series Canons. I like my ELPH because it’s so tiny, so I keep it in my pants pocket, but the G-series are AWESOME! My canon SD 800IS I bought in ’06 needs to retire soon, and I’m split on another Elph, or a G11 or G12.

    Do you have it set on auto-mode or are you playing in manual modes? If there’s a ‘P’ setting, try putting it on there, with ISO set at 400, or lower (Esp for outdoor shots) I tend to not like the ‘green block’ auto mode on Canons since like in that pic of Reed, the camera tends to blow up the ISOs into a grainy bunch. I’ve found if you’re going to shoot in auto, keeping ISO down is the key to better-looking pics! If there’s a ‘sport’ mode, that tends to keep ISO down to 250-400 ISO on canons and is the auto-mode for action shots. If the ISO is all blown-out and grainy you can’t edit it out, but if pics are dark, that can be edited so the goal is preventing grain in the first place.

    • So far I like it.

      Most of those shots were on auto, some on P. I don’t know enough about photography yet to do much manual, but I want to learn, especially now that I have such a great camera.

      So, if I’m indoors, it’d be better to put it on 400 and keep the flash off, and just try to lighten the photo later?

      We’re going to the dog park later today, will try to get some nice outdoor shots. I also need to take Reed out and practice heeling with our new collar, we’re going to our first rally class tonight.

    • Oh and I know these aren’t great photos, but for what I wanted, it’s 1000 times better than the 630 and even the 1200 I had for a few days.

  2. If you are indoors, you will probably need higher than 400 for no flash. I’d try 600. It also helps to try to take pictures near windows during the daylight hours so you can get some natural light. But if you must, crank up the ISO and try to avoid the harsh light of the flash

  3. For indoors I’d keep it at ISO 400, or if it’s brighter, lower. While I was in TX in april I don’t think I went above 200 in ISO. But of course, you can also use flash as the flash on this camera doesn’t blow-out pics like many cameras. Biggest thing is high ISO grain in pics can’t be saved, while many other things can be saved. I’ll take a dim pic any day over grain! I specifically got the DSLR I did because I can shoot in high ISO at indoor dog shows, and not have the photos riddled with grain! Esp if pics are printed, grain is obvious when it’s there (That ‘web cam’ look in pics, where it looks kind of ‘dotty’)

    By all means though, play with it and learn your own style, and most important, have FUN! The post-processing you did on these pics is ADORABLE. I’m glad you like the G12, and I may just have to break down and get myself one, instead of replacing my beloved ELPH!


Leave a Reply

Categories

